Moss art – Chapter 1

So as I’ve discovered, moss can be a key component in visual art. I have spent some time compiling images of some interesting mossy art.  I’ve picked images that use moss on a very grand scale such as the image below and then on a really small scale such as the lightbulb terrarium.

What I’ve realized is that there really is a whole world of art out there dedicated to moss. I am intrigued. So I decided to  change this post from just Moss Art to Moss Art Chapter 1. Meaning, more chapters  to come…

The Mudmaid

Oh how I love to look at this image. It evokes such peaceful and soothing emotions. She looks so comfortable under her mossy blanket!

The Mudmaid – The Lost Gardens of Heligan – www.heligan.com

 

 

I fell in love with this image as soon as I saw it. The clever people at Terrain (www.terrain.com) have made this beautiful holiday terrarium. A nice mix of real/live botany   with a whimsical flare. The purple cyclamen unusually capture the holiday spirit in a sort of modern way don’t you think? Now where is the cute little elf hiding?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And how cute is the lightbulb terrarium? The little alligator, the piece of moss, the little legs to hold the bulb upright. People truly are amazing with their creativity.

This image comes from the cool site the hipsterho.me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This image is from the artists at mosstika.com. Two moss chandeliers and several living moss embellishments on the pillar. Pretty cool.

One thought on “Moss art – Chapter 1

Leave a Reply

